Lucroy, 2 Lightning players named to FCSL All-Decade team - South Lake Press: Sports

Lucroy, 2 Lightning players named to FCSL All-Decade team

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, January 31, 2014 6:00 am

Two former Leesburg Lightning players and a Lake County high school alum were named on Thursday to the Florida Collegiate Summer League’s All-Decade Team.

Fans, coaches and FCSL staff took part in a recent vote to select the team from rosters that filled the league’s first 10 years.

Many of the players chosen came from more than 235 FCSL players who were drafted in Major League Baseball’s annual amateur draft.

Former Umatilla catcher Jonathan Lucroy was the FCSL’s All-Decade catcher. Lucroy played 60 games with Sanford and Winter Park in 2005 and 2006 and recorded a batting average of .325 with 8 homers and 41 runs batted in.

“Lucroy was a force at the plate during his two years in the league,” FCSL officials said. “He was named to the all-star team in 2005 and led the league in RBIs that year. He was also a member of the 2006 FCSL champions, Winter Park.”

Lucroy is currently the starting catcher for the Milwaukee Brewers.

In addition, 2011 Leesburg Lightning alums Jake Tillotson and Ethan Bader were named to the team.

Tillotson, who played at the University of Tampa, batted .351 for the Lightning with 2 homers and 26 RBIs. He also scored 48 runs.

Bader, from Armstrong Atlantic, was a powerhouse out of the Lightning bullpen, recording a 4-2 record with a 0.51 ERA. He struck out 57 batters in 35 1/3 innings and allowed only 22 hits.

“Tillotson enjoyed a phenomenal summer with the Lightning in 2011,” according to the FCSL. “He set an all-time league record with 66 hits and also led the league in runs scored. His .351 batting average was second in the league. Tillotson also won a national championship at Tampa in 2013.”

Bader accomplished a rare feat with the Lightning by leading the league in strikeouts as a reliever.

“He has the second best single-season ERA and was named the 2011 FCSL Reliever of the Year,” FCSL officials said. “He helped the Lightning to a league record 29 wins and was named to the FCSL All-Star team. He also has earned two first team All-Conference honors at Armstrong Atlantic.”

Other members of the team include: LB Dantzler (first base, played at Winter Park), Tyler Palmer (second v, Sanford), Mark Nelson (third base, Orlando, Florida Atlantic), Michael Danner (outfield, Winter Park), Lee Cruz (outfield, Orlando, Zephyrhills), Ted Blackman (outfield, Winter Park), Anthony Figliolia (multipurpose, Winter Park), Evan Incinelli (pitcher, Winter Park), Drew Shetrone (pitcher, Sanford), Bo O’Dell (pitcher, Orlando, Altamonte Springs, Belleview), Emilio Ogando (pitcher, WInter Park), Bobby Bolling (pitcher, Bellview, Winter Park), Jimmy Nelson (pitcher, DeLand), Josh Strawn (pitcher, DeLand, Sanford), Josh Glick (pitcher, Winter Park).

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.